- Project Runeberg -  Year-book of the Swedish-American Historical Society / Volume 6 (1916-1917) /

(1908-1925) [MARC]
Table of Contents / Innehåll | << Previous | Next >>
  Project Runeberg | Like | Catalog | Recent Changes | Donate | Comments? |   

Full resolution (JPEG) - On this page / på denna sida - Sidor ...

scanned image

<< prev. page << föreg. sida <<     >> nästa sida >> next page >>

Below is the raw OCR text from the above scanned image. Do you see an error? Proofread the page now!
Här nedan syns maskintolkade texten från faksimilbilden ovan. Ser du något fel? Korrekturläs sidan nu!

This page has been proofread at least once. (diff) (history)
Denna sida har korrekturlästs minst en gång. (skillnad) (historik)

nation settled within its limits, and the population
continued to be almost entirely Dutch and Swedish.
Colonel Nicolls discharged the duties of governor over
the western shore of the Delaware until May, 1667,
when he was succeeded by Colonel Francis Lovelace.
For the assistance of Deputy-Governor Carr there was
established at New Castle, in 1668, a temporary
Council, composed of himself, the Schout, four Swedes, and
one Hollander, and the laws known as the Duke of
York’s were recommended by Governor Lovelace and
his Council for their guidance in administering justice.
These were compiled from those in force in other
English colonies and plantations, and in matters of appeal
the Court of Assizes was authorized to “decide
according to the direction of the Bench, and not contrary
to the known laws of England.” In 1672 mention is
made for the first time of a court on the Delaware,
held at Upland.

In 1673, during the war between England and
Holland, some Dutch ships entered New York harbor
and reduced the English officers to submission to the
States-General of the old province of New Netherlands
Governor Lovelace being required to return to
England. Peter Alrichs was made Schout and Commander
on the Delaware, now called again South River, and
the inhabitants of that region were authorised to name,
by a majority of votes, eight persons for each court of
justice, to be seated at New Amstel, Upland, and
Whorekill, from whom the Governor selected and
commissioned a sufficient number of judges. This restored
rule of the Hollanders did not last long, however, for
a treaty of peace between England and the States-General
was signed in Pebraury, 1674, by which the

<< prev. page << föreg. sida <<     >> nästa sida >> next page >>

Project Runeberg, Mon Jul 4 09:27:59 2016 (aronsson) (download) << Previous Next >>

Valid HTML 4.0! All our files are DRM-free